Structural Engineers Association of Texas


SEAoT regularly identifies individuals for several prestigious awards including the Anders Award, the SEAoT Service Award, and the Wilbur C. Schoeller Award (Click here for information about these awards). The recipients of recent awards are listed here. For more information about past recipients, click here.

SEAoT Distinguished Service Award
  2021 – Charles Hammond, P.E., S.E.
2019 – William “Whit” Smith, P.E.
2018 – Robert (Bob) Lanser, P.E. and Frank Neal
2017 – Justice Edge, P.E.
2016 – William (Bill) Kelm, P.E
2015 – Ismael Legarreta
2014 – Paul Gugenheim
2013 – Joseph (Joe) Kallaby, P.E. S.E., D.OE
2012 – Danny Anderson, P.E.
2011 – Gary P. Ten Eyck, P.E.
2010 – Ruben Ponce, Jr., P.E.., SECB.
2009 – Sam White, P.E.
2008 – Lee Walden, P.E.

Wilbur C. Schoeller


2021 – Randall W. Poston, Ph.D., P.E., S.E.,
2019 – Dennis Paul
2018 – Kishor Mehta, Ph.D., NAE, Dist. M ASCE, F. SEI
2017 – Jose Guerra, P.E.F. NSPE, F. ASCE
2016 – John Breen, Ph.D., P.E
2015- John Schwab, P.E.
2014 – Michael D. Engelhardt, Ph.D., P.E., P.E. RMT
2013 – Davy Beicker, P.E. RMT
2012 – Peter Larson, P.E., SECB
2011 – Stan Caldwell,P.E., SECB, F.ASCE, F.SEI, F.AEI
2010 – RIchard Klingner, Ph.D., P.E.
2009 – Paul J. Rielly P.E., S.E.
2008 – Joseph Kallaby, P.E.
2007 – Robert Navarro, P.E.
2006 – Stephen Campbell, P.E.
2005 – Joe Luke, P.E.
2004 – Melvin Danysh, P.E.
2004 – Charles Lundy, P.E.
2003- Larry Griffis, P.E.
2002 – Lawrence Calvetti, M.S., P.E.
2001 – Bill L. Gunnin, Ph.D., P.E. 
2000 – Richard W. Furlong, P.E., PhD.

Anders Award
  2007 – Charles Beutnagel
2003 – Bob Tieman, P.E.
2002 – Jon Jelinek, P.E.
2001 – Davy Beicker, P.E.
2000 – Stanley D. Agee



SEAoT Distinguished Service Awards

Charles Hammond, P.E..– 2021

Charles Hammond is Principal in Walker Consultant’s Austin office currently specializing in forensic structural engineering. Charles’ diverse international and domestic background has included restoration projects, new design projects, forensic investigations, and litigation work. Services provided on these projects include failure investigations, structural analyses, construction administration, repair design, load testing, non-destructive evaluation, peer review, and expert witness services among others. Charles’ many years of design and forensic experience have included various structure types such as stadiums, medical facilities, high-rise buildings, residential buildings, marine structures, pavements, and parking structures. The structures have utilized a variety of materials including concrete, structural steel, and wood. Charles also holds multiple certifications, including being a licensed PE and/or SE in 14 states, a Certified Welding Inspector, a Registered Roof Observer, a TDI Windstorm Inspector, a LEED accredited professional and a PADI Divemaster.

Charles has been a SEAoT member since 2008 and has diligently served the organization continuously in volunteer roles since 2011. He has served at the local level for the Austin chapter as Membership Director, Vice President, and President. Additionally, he has served at the state level as a State Board Director on behalf of the Austin Chapter, President-Elect, President, Past President, and as co-chair of the Governmental Affairs Committee. Charles has written several articles for industry publications including being a contributor to the SEAoT Quarterly Journal where he recently contributed an article on the safety of vehicular barriers for parking garages in the 2020-2021 Winter Journal. Charles has also made several presentations at SEAoT events on welding and extending the service life of concrete structures.

Charles other professional involvement includes participating in several committees for the American Concrete Institute (ACI), serving on the board of directors for the Central Texas Chapter of ACI, and also serving as the organization’s Community Outreach Committee Chair where he has organized group volunteer events for the Ronald McDonald House, the Georgetown Animal Shelter, Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day, and the Austin Parks Foundation. Other recent charitable work has included building dog houses for Barkitecture, volunteering with Habitat for Humanity, and participating annually in the underwater (SCUBA diving) cleanup of Lake Travis.

Charles graduated with a B.S. in Civil Engineering from Texas Tech University and an M.S. in Civil Engineering from The University of Texas at Austin; both with an emphasis in Structural Engineering. Additionally, Charles has earned several degrees from Austin Community College including an A.A. in Spanish, an A.S. in Archaeology, and an A.A.S. in Welding Technology. Charles is a proud father of two sons, Jake and Hunter.



Wilbur C. Schoeller Award Recipients

Randall W. Poston, Ph.D., P.E., S.E. – 2021

Randall W. Poston, Ph.D., P.E., S.E., NAE is a structural engineer and the founding senior principal of the consulting engineering firm Pivot Engineers in Austin, TX. He is also a Neil Armstrong Distinguished Visiting Fellow at Purdue University College of Engineering and a Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Texas at San Antonio. Poston is a Past President of the American Concrete Institute (ACI).

Poston’s expertise includes structural concrete repair and strengthening design and investigation of structural failures. His projects cross a wide range of infrastructure including bridges, buildings, parking structures, marine structures, tanks, water-containing structures, and special structures. In his 35 years as a consulting structural engineer, Dr. Poston has participated in the evaluation and repair and strengthening design of more than 700 structures.

Poston received his bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees in civil engineering from the University of Texas at Austin (UT) in 1978, 1980, and 1984, respectively. Poston was elected to the UT Academy of Distinguished Graduates of the Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering in 2008, and was named a UT Distinguished Engineering Graduate of the Cockrell School of Engineering in 2014. Poston was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2017.

From 2006 to 2014, he chaired the ACI Committee 318, – Structural Concrete Building Code, which was responsible for the first comprehensive reorganization of building code for structural concrete in 45 years. For his work leading the effort, ACI recognized Poston with the 2014 ACI Henry L. Kennedy Award and the 2015 Delmar Bloem Distinguished Service Award.

SEAoT Membership

SEAoT membership is offered to corporations and individuals who are interested in the practice of structural engineering and its peripheral issues. SEAoT membership runs from January – December.

However, depending when you join, your membership for the first year will be prorated so that you only pay for the remainder of the year. (Those joining between October 1 and December 31, pay full membership which covers them up to the end of December of the year following the year in which they join.) There are a number of membership options.

Contact Us

Ask a question or contact us about conference registration.

1 + 4 =

(512) 851-1411

Structural Engineers Association of Texas - Austin, Texas, USA